Bulls heading to Mauritius for 10’s tournament

The Blue Bulls team to travel to the Beachcomber World Club 10s in Mauritius to compete for the third staging of the popular tournament has been named.

The Blue Bulls team include fit-again Dries Swanepoel and Roelof Smit, as well as RG Snyman, who has served his suspension he received in the Super Rugby tournament.

This will be a first appearance this year for Smit, who has recovered from the pectoral muscle injury he sustained while travelling with the Springboks in Europe last year in November, while Swanepoel returned to action last week with the Blue Bulls in the SuperSport Rugby Challenge.

The team will be coached by Nollis Marais, who sees the trip as a great honing exercise with the Super Rugby tournament that will continue again in three weeks’ time.

“It is an important step towards getting some momentum and rhythm back after the compulsory break of Super Rugby, but it is also a very important phase to start preparing for the Currie Cup competition that starts in July,” the coach explained.

“This is an ideal fitness exercise as well as a number of guys have not played for a while and that are not involved with the Springboks and SA ‘A’ sides. And with the Blue Bulls team having a bye in the SuperSport Rugby Challenge, we could also rope some of them in, Marais commented.

“Like any tournament or match we play in, we will be out to win this and give our supporters something to be proud of. Tours like these are as always good for team cohesion as well,” Marais said.

Former Springbok Coach Heyneke Meyer is in charge of running the tournament while legendary lock Victor Matfield, will assist in coaching the Africa Pacific Dragons.

Meyer, who enjoyed a long and successful professional relationship with Matfield at both the Bulls and Springboks, will also be on hand to give input to the composite Dragons team. Matfield and former Bok fly half Jaco van der Westhuizen will formally coach the Dragons.

The Bulls and Cheetahs are confirmed as two of the eight elite professional teams for the third staging of rugby’s newest, and most exciting, format.

South African Dave Wessels will bring his exciting Western Force squad to the tournament to defend the title they won in 2016 while the Brumbies are Australia’s other entrants.

The combined Africa Pacific Dragons will have the Springboks’ most capped Test player Matfield on their coaching staff while Japan’s Kubota Spears, who are making their debut, are coached by South African Frans Ludeke.

English club side Harlequins and French combined unit the Pyrenees Rugby Seven (PR7) complete the elite line-up.

The Bulls team for the tournament is: Forwards: Jaco Visagie, Edgar Marutlulle, Nick de Jager, Boom Prinsloo, Shaun Adendorff, Roelof Smit, RG Snyman, Jannes Kirsten. Backs: Andre Warner, Ivan van Zyl, Tony Jantjies, Burger Odendaal, Dries Swanepoel, Duncan Matthews, Sibahle Maxwane, Kefentse Mahlo. JT Jackson is on standby in case of injuries.

Management: Nollis Marais, David Manual, Dr. Herman Rossouw, Xander Janse van Rensburg.


For free breaking and community news, visit Rekord’s websites:

Rekord East

Rekord North

Rekord Centurion

Rekord Moot

For more news and interesting articles, like Rekord on Facebook, follow us on Twitter or Instagram.

Rekord Pretoria

Latest News


Recommended Story x
Blue Bulls junior teams for semi-finals named